OpenLife revisited

November 2, 2008

I had a blast hanging out at OpenLife with a lot of Second Life residents looking for alternative virtual worlds. Since there is no functioning economy there yet, everything is free and the sense of solidarity by going through the whole noob process again is awesome. It was interesting to watch everyone. Most people were very concerned about their avatars appearance. The hottest topics were “where to get freebies” and how does “second inventory work”? Of course OpenLife Grid is by far not as advanced as Second Life. But I like the way it encourages creation instead of consumption and that it gives me the feeling of being a true pioneer to something that has not yet been explored and conquered yet. Personally I feel rather uncomfortable by the way Linden Lab “rules” over Second Life. I completely understand that this is the way it has to be for now and that there is not much to do about it. I also accept it because I actually do like to hang out there. Yet I will always support alternative virtual worlds and concepts as much as I can. Because I also like to dream about a better future and my dream is a virtual world that is governed by it’s citizens and not by a single profit seeking company.

Leave a Reply

